Was Kaworu really Adam?

For serious and at times in-depth discussions only, covering the original TV series, the movies End of Evangelion and Death & Rebirth.

Moderator: Board Staff

Forum rules
By visiting this forum, you agree to read the rules for discussion and abide by them.
SleepS
Embryo

Was Kaworu really Adam?

•      
  •      

Postby SleepS » Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:05 am

Sorry if this has already been discussed, but I didn't find anything when I searched (of course, I'm just learning).

In episode 24, the uncut version, SEELE members say that Kaworu has the soul of Adam inside of him. I always took this to mean that since Kaworu was in fact Angel, he was born from Adam like all of the rest of the Angels. I'm reading places that Kaworu was actually a clone; he is to SEELE was Rei is to NERV. This confuses me, and I'm hoping someone can clear it up for me. How can Kaworu be an Angel and a clone at the same time? In Rei's case, she was only part Angel, but Kaworu was full blown Angel, proved by his synch rates. I understand that Kaworu was sent by SEELE and almost tricked into starting the Third Impact. But how could SEELE have ended up "creating" and Angel? Basically, I don't understand how Kaworu could be the 17th Angel and still be a clone that SEELE supposedly created to house Adam.

Sachi
Oh Daddy!
Oh Daddy!

•      
  •      

Postby Sachi » Mon Dec 29, 2008 4:06 am

- Sachi

I host the discord server for the EvaGeeks forums. Join us! https://discord.gg/aBQ3F6M9yp

V
Banned

•      
  •      

Postby V » Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:36 pm

yes and no

I have long pondered what exactly it meant that Kaworu is both the Angel "Tabris" and the "vessel of the soul of Adam"

either way, he's identical to Rei

the result *I THINK* is that Kaworu is both the first and last Angel: surely, he doesn't consider himself to be "Adam". He considers Adam "mother of us all"

nonetheless, Rei is the soul of Lilith inserted into a human clone body.