The Acting in Eva

This is the place to start: Feel free to introduce yourself, have general conversations and casual discussions about all things Evangelion, including chit-chatty topics like "Sachiel is adorable" or "Which Eva kicks the most ass?"

Moderator: Board Staff

Nukie
Lilith

The Acting in Eva

•      
  •      

Postby Nukie » Fri Sep 05, 2008 12:54 pm

Hello all, used to frequent here awhile ago, now Im back, blah blah blah. Anyway, something that isn't talked about much are the amazing performances the voice actors of this show did. I think this is one of the reasons Eva has stayed popular: the characters and their complexities, brought to life by their respective seiyuu. Im probably just preaching to the choir here, but...

Anyone who says that they hate Shinji probably isnt an actor. Im a beginning acting student, I have to say that Shinji is a goldmine of a character. I would give an arm and a leg to play him. Eva is actually the reason why I got into acting seriously, as I wanted to play characters as interesting as the Eva cast. He has so many freaking layers to him, and it is ALWAYS fun to play crying/screaming/freaking out (which he does a lot of) but also his humanity. It's really easy to play him as whiny and nihilistic (Spike Spencer) but Ms. Ogata really understood him completely and delivered some amazing VO. :thumbsup:

In fact, every character is a goldmine in terms of their subtext, emotional turmoil and backstory. Who do you think gave the best performance out of the Eva cast, and why? Who would you play if you had the chance?
(If this does not belong here please feel free to move/delete.)
-!

IrkenEvangelion
Pilot
Pilot

•      
  •      

Postby IrkenEvangelion » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:02 pm

I always loved the original voice cast, I always hated how they changed 2 or 3 voices with every different release.

If I had the chance I'd voice Aoba or Toji.
THIS IS STEINS;GATE'S CHOICE!
----<3 Merchant meets Spicy Wolf <3----