JuanSorel
Tunniel
Tunniel

Demon Slayer tangent

•      
  •      

Postby JuanSorel » Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:16 am

Split from here

I have no knowledge about Demon Slayer. Briefly, and without deriding this thread... is it worth watching?

hui43210
Former Moderator
Former Moderator

Re: Shin Evangelion beats franchise record for the first day at the box office

•      
  •      

Postby hui43210 » Tue Apr 06, 2021 9:36 am

View Original PostJuanSorel wrote:I have no knowledge about Demon Slayer. Briefly, and without deriding this thread... is it worth watching?

Never seen it, but I think it depends if you like Shonen shows as it is a Shonen Jump property. If that's your thing, I gather it's pretty good.

As for me, it really does not look like something I'd be interested in.

Edit: Based on the replies below, maybe I'll check it out. I fully respect that the animation itself is fantastic, but I'm not sure I'm sold on the story/characters. But it's widely available so I may as well check out a couple of episodes.
Last edited by hui43210 on Tue Apr 06, 2021 11:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
I mean, predictability is the central attraction and the narrative hook that we've all come to expect from the Evangelion franchise. How come Anno can't realize this? Twice? - FreakyFilmFan4ever

Joseki
Marduk Selectee
Marduk Selectee

•      
  •      

Postby Joseki » Tue Apr 06, 2021 10:02 am

The anime deserves to be watched for the animations alone. What they achieved is marvelous. The first season itself in terms of plot is pretty much a long prologue that ends on a cliffhanger for the movie.

Episode 19 is great.

pwhodges
A Lilin in Wonderland
A Lilin in Wonderland

•      
  •      

Postby pwhodges » Tue Apr 06, 2021 11:05 am

View Original PostJuanSorel wrote:I have no knowledge about Demon Slayer. Briefly, and without deriding this thread... is it worth watching?