What are some of the most done to death NGE fanfic ideas?

Everything Evangelion Fanfiction related.

Moderators: Derantor, Board Staff

Executive Washington
Embryo

What are some of the most done to death NGE fanfic ideas?

•      
  •      

Postby Executive Washington » Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:32 pm

I am an aspiring fanfic writer that wants to get my foot out the door, but I want to know something...

What are the most done to death NGE fanfic ideas ever?

I want to avoid or at least subvert cliches like the plague, so I need to know the most done to death or "dead horse" fanfic ideas.

Monk Ed
Sunshine Administrator
Sunshine Administrator

•      
  •      

Postby Monk Ed » Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:39 pm

There's a funny thing about cliches: They tend to get "overused" because they work. One man's cliche is another's favored style. NGE fandom is full of stories where Shinji or someone else gets to go back in time for another chance, for example, but lots of really popular fics are based on that idea and a whole lot of people don't really mind that it's been done thousands of times.

I don't read much fanfic though so I'm not the best person to be answering this question. :bigeyes: But it's just something I've noticed from reading other people talk about fanfics.
System Administrator
"NGE is like a perfectly improvised jazz piece. It builds on a standard and then plays off it from there, and its developments may occasionally recall what it's done before as a way of keeping the whole concatenated." -- Eva Yojimbo
"To me watching anime is not just for killing time or entertainment, it is a life style, and a healthy one too." -- symbv
"That sounds like the kind of science that makes absolutely 0 sense when you stop and think about it... I LOVE IT." -- Rosenakahara

Clover
Leliel
Leliel

•      
  •      

Postby Clover » Fri Apr 11, 2014 10:44 pm

No peggy sue. Ever.
It's the laziest, dumbest plot you can write.