EoE Sandbox Scene, Asuka Scenes?

For serious and at times in-depth discussions only, covering the original TV series, the movies End of Evangelion and Death & Rebirth.

Moderator: Board Staff

Forum rules
By visiting this forum, you agree to read the rules for discussion and abide by them.
sadsadshinji
Nerv Scientist
Nerv Scientist

EoE Sandbox Scene, Asuka Scenes?

•      
  •      

Postby sadsadshinji » Mon Apr 28, 2008 6:56 am

I have been looking at the sandbox scene in EoE (starting at 9:02 of the second part), and I was wondering if anyone has deciphered the overall symbolism of the layout of the area. I feel like the hills represent breasts, and for some reason, the playground seems like a face to me. Of course, the swing and seats could be interpreted as a phallic reference, but I kind of doubt that. The setting sun between the hills, I do not understand either.
Then, there is the fact that Shinji says "Its just like when I started playing Cello. I thought if I came here, I would find what I was looking for". Considering he builds a NERV pyramid, is this hinting at how he sought EVA to define himself and it has just been a disappointment?
The doll-girls are also something I find interesting- one of them seems to be modeled after Asuka, but the other seems to be based from Misato, which is strange, as the "mother" seems to be Misato as well. There is also the gulf between Shinji (and his sandbox) and the girls and their mother. Does this represent the fact that Shinji does not have his mother anymore?

There are also two scenes based in scenes from the series involving Asuka. The first represents a spin on Asuka and Shinji's kissing scene, while the second is a great expansion of the scene where Shinji tells Asuka that Kaji is dead. In both, I assumed that it is actually Shinji controlling everything (rather, it is the Asuka in Shinji's mind who appears, not the real Asuka). Why would Shinji want such confrontation?

ZapX
Guided by the New Era