FGP Skin Change

Important site and forum news, announcements, and feedback goes here.

Moderator: Board Staff

ObsessiveMathsFreak
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus

FGP Skin Change

•      
  •      

Postby ObsessiveMathsFreak » Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:03 pm

In the absence of a suitable forum, I'll post the following here.

I've changed the design of the Fan Geeks Project, i.e. Mediawiki. The default skin is now set to "NGEFGP", a custom skin based on The Eva Monkey's design for the front page.

First and foremost, would any users, editors and browsers, of the wiki software please report any errors or oddities in this thread. Providing a screenshot of the error will be appreciated. IE users should be especially vigilant. Don't forget to report your browsers and operating system as well. Thank you.

Secondly, I am not a graphics designer, or even a web designer. I have been told when it comes to art I rank as a "philistine". As such, the new skin may be glaringly awful, in terms of both looks and css coding. Anyone knowledgeable in such areas is encouraged to be forward and blunt. If it looks bad, or is coded poorly, please say so.

To surmise the changes, the left navbar in mediawiki has been moved to the bottom of the main content, giving that content much more space on screen. The padding theme follows in some respect the main page. I hope it isn't too garish.

The ultimate goal is for different sections of the FGP, i.e. different namespaces in the wiki, to have slightly different skin designs. It's hoped this is one step towards that goal.

P.S.
If you're having a few troubles with the design in your browsers, first try a full refresh of the page by hitting SHIFT+reload(firefox) or CTRL+reload(IE).

EDITED -- fixed link
[Became an administrator on or before October 4th, 2007.]
May The Maths Be With You.

Szmitten
Sandalphon
Sandalphon

•      
  •      

Postby Szmitten » Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:06 am

IE6 still: