How did you first get into Evangelion?

This is the place to start: Feel free to introduce yourself, have general conversations and casual discussions about all things Evangelion, including chit-chatty topics like "Sachiel is adorable" or "Which Eva kicks the most ass?"

Moderator: Board Staff

Watericekiller
Embryo

•      
  •      

Postby Watericekiller » Sat Jul 18, 2015 9:13 pm

A friend strongly encouraged me to watch Evangelion. It took me awhile to actually get to watching it, but once I did it was easily my favorite anime, and still is to date.
"Her arms always tell the story"

Folk Devil
Embryo

•      
  •      

Postby Folk Devil » Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:01 pm

I'm actually pretty new to the game. I had been aware of Evangelion for a long time but I was never really much into anime, like I liked it but I probably hated about 9 out of ten shows I saw. I tried on about three or four different occasions to watch it on a recommendation from some friends but I could never really get into it. It just seemed like another mecha anime to me, the whole concept of "giant robots" (I didn't know what Evas actually were at the time, remember) turned me off a lot. I thought the angel designs were cool but that was about it. I don't remember how exactly I found out Toji was gonna be the fourth child but that seemed stupid to me (because I didn't really understand how the selection process worked, I thought it was just random chance, so it seemed to me at the time like they were just pulling it out of their ass.) I quit after that, writing the whole series off as "overrated."