Nier: Automata

Discussions about non-Evangelion related video games, board games, card games and gaming in general.

Moderators: Rebuild/OT Moderators, Board Staff

FreakyFilmFan4ever
(In)Sufficient Director
(In)Sufficient Director

Nier: Automata

•      
  •      

Postby FreakyFilmFan4ever » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:28 pm

So, I started playing this game Thursday morning. I finished the game this morning (22+ hours in a weekend, I don't make good life decisions while playing video games) and it was an amazing experience. There's something like 26 endings to the whole thing, so now I'm replaying it.

It's a fantastic game so far. Granted, I don't play video games that often (again, they tend to lead to me making poor life choices), and I usually don't buy video game consoles until they're a generation old. But my brother gave me his PS4 when he upgraded to the PS4 Pro, and I've just been using it as a Blu-ray player for a couple of years now. So, when I express my honest opinion of Nier: Automata being the best video I've playing since Portal 2, it's probably because the last "newer" game I played all the way through actually was Portal 2, back when it was already a generation old. That being said, the visuals are truly stunning. I don't mean that in the sense of the game's graphics usurping any and all potential that the PS4 has to offer for it's video rendering, but rather I'm referring to everything else about the game's visuals. The B&W of the main characters' costuming is gorgeous, and the character designs of the 2B and 9S crawled into me body and stole my heart from me. I don't know who thought that blindfolding all of the characters would be the best costuming decision ever, but it really kind of is. The layout of the world is visually striking and very fun to mess around in.