Still worth watching after spoiling events?

This is the place to start: Feel free to introduce yourself, have general conversations and casual discussions about all things Evangelion, including chit-chatty topics like "Sachiel is adorable" or "Which Eva kicks the most ass?"

Moderator: Board Staff

Sonoshee
Embryo

Still worth watching after spoiling events?

•      
  •      

Postby Sonoshee » Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:06 am

I'm fairly new to Eva, and out of my curiosity I spoiled a lot of key elements of the show ( notably what happens to some characters, the ending, and some other stuff).
I did watch the rebuild movies, but my question is: is the anime still worth watching? How much do you think I'll miss the enjoyment of the show in comparison to having not spoiled it.
wutever

Nuclear Lunchbox
Agent Ahegao
Agent Ahegao

•      
  •      

Postby Nuclear Lunchbox » Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:59 am

Surely you could not have been spoiled on everything-- and even if you have been, watching the show is still a much different experience than hearing or reading about it. Watch the show. You'll enjoy yourself.

Sonoshee
Embryo

•      
  •      

Postby Sonoshee » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:04 am

Right you are! heck I think I'm watching it this week. Thanks!
wutever

Mr. Tines
Administrator
Administrator

•      
  •      

Postby Mr. Tines » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:16 am

Having gone into NGE knowing only that it was "if you watch one Japanese robot show, make it this one", it's hard to say -- but comparing the series with my experience of heavily spoiled series over the years, I think it will still have impact. It's the detailed how and why, rather than the what happens that make a show worth watching (or not).