Strategic Cyborg Evangelion [AU]

Everything Evangelion Fanfiction related.

Moderators: Derantor, Board Staff

amitakartok
Nerv Scientist
Nerv Scientist

Strategic Cyborg Evangelion [AU]

•      
  •      

Postby amitakartok » Tue Dec 25, 2012 5:17 pm

Okay, let's try this again.

SCE is an AU I've been writing for the last two years. It is technically a crossover but prior knowledge of Half-Life is not required to understand the plot: everything needed is provided in the early chapters. Right now, the story is undergoing an extensive rewrite to fix the army of mistakes that plagued the early chapters. It used to be my first story but the initial version was just too bad to be left alone like this.

The central part of the plot is that Second Impact came prematurely, in 1998 instead of 2000 and in North America instead of Antarctica; as a result, most (but not all) of SEELE's scenario went up in smoke. Fast-forward 43 years to the beginning of the story when Kaworu arrives to Tokyo-3 after he's expelled from his previous school for fighting.

One complaint I received from my reviewers is that Kaworu sounds more than a bit like a Marty Stu; that's because when I started the story in 2010, I wanted to take Kaworu in a completely different direction than now. I admit that he basically wasn't the same character everyone knows, but somebody else wearing his face and name. I'm intending to fix that in the coming months.

As you all know, canon!Kaworu was raised by SEELE for the express purpose of starting 3I and didn't have much understanding of humanity as a result. This Kaworu however grew up on the streets of Vienna, giving him much-needed experience with people and streetwise thinking. On the other hand, him taking the position of protagonist instead of Shinji means that all the suffering Shinji would've endured would be dumped onto Kaworu instead - and suffer he will. More than the rest of the cast combined. And it will leave a permanent mark.